Making Copies Lighter or Darker
- Press the Menu button to display Copy Menu on the LCD screen.
- Press the bottom left button (next to Copy Layout) to choose Copy Density.

- Press the OK button. You see this screen:
- Press the ◄ Select button to lighten your copy, or the ► Select button to darken it.
- Press the OK button to save your setting.
Saving and Reusing Copy Settings
You can save one set of custom copy settings so you can quickly reuse it for a similar copying job (for example, 5 × 7-inch photos on Premium Glossy Photo Paper). You can then "reprint" photos by pressing a single button.
- After selecting settings, press and hold the ◄ Save button until you see Stored on the LCD screen.
- To use your saved settings, press the ► Recall button until you see Recalled on the screen.
If you want to save a different group of settings, repeat step 1. This replaces your previously saved settings.
26 Copying

Adjusting the Copy Size Manually
You can manually adjust the size of your copies from 25% to 400%:
- Press the Menu button to access the Copy Menu.
- Press the bottom left button (next to Copy Layout) until you see Optional Zoom.

- Press the OK button.
- Use the numeric keypad to enter the percentage by which you want to enlarge or reduce your copy.
- Press the OK button to save your setting.
Canceling Copies
To cancel a copy job in progress, press the ⊘ Stop button. Canceling appears on the LCD screen, and the page is ejected.
Restoring Default Settings
You can reset copy settings to their original default settings. Just press and hold the Clear/Reset button until you see Resetting on the LCD screen (this takes approximately 3 seconds).
Copying Without a Computer 27

Copying With a Computer
Follow these steps to use Epson Smart Panel to copy with your computer.
Some features, such as PhotoEnhance™ and Sepia, are only available when copying from the computer.
- Press the ☉ On button to turn on the RX500.
- Open the scanner lid.
- Place your photo or document face down on the glass, in the upper left corner. Move your document about 0.1 inch from the top and side edge so your entire document is scanned.

Move the photo or document in about 0.1 inch from the edges
Orient the photo as shown
Note: If you place your photo flush against the guides, the edges next to the guides may not be copied.
- Close the scanner lid.

28 Copying
To copy a thick document such as a book, you can remove the scanner lid. Open the scanner lid completely. Then disconnect the cord from the TPU connector and pull the lid straight up. Turn on the RX500 and gently press down the original to keep it flat on the scanner glass as you scan. When you’re finished, be sure to turn off the RX500 before replacing the scanner lid and plugging in the connector.
- Open the output tray.

Output tray
- Flip the feeder guard forward.
Feeder guard

- Pinch the sides of the left edge guide together as you slide the guide all the way to the left.

- Insert your paper against the right edge of the sheet feeder, behind the tab.
Don’t place the paper in front of the feeder guard.
Copying With a Computer 29
- Press the sides of the left edge guide together and slide against the paper (but not too tightly).

- Flip the feeder guard back over the paper.
Feeder guard

- Double-click the EPSON Smart Panel icon on your desktop to open Smart Panel.
You can also open Smart Panel in Windows by selecting Start > All Programs or Programs > EPSON Smart Panel > EPSON Smart Panel. On Macintosh, you can open Smart Panel from the Applications folder.
30 Copying
- Click the Smart Panel Copy Center button. You see the Copy Settings screen:

The screens may appear slightly different on Macintosh systems.
- Adjust any of the following copy settings:
■ Source Type: Choose Photo & Text, Photo, or Text, based on the content of your original.
■ Reduce/Enlarge: Choose the setting based on the size of your original and your copy, or click Manual and enter a percentage to reduce or enlarge your copy by a specific amount.
■ Lighten/Darken: Adjust this by clicking the ▲ and ▼ arrows.
■ Number of Copies: Click the ▲ and ▼ arrows to choose the number of copies.
Click the Cancel button if you need to cancel a setting you've made.
- Click the Device Settings button to check your input and output devices:

You should see your EPSON Stylus Photo RX500 as the input and output device.
-
Click Settings to change the displayed print settings (such as a different Media Type setting, if you loaded special paper) or select additional options. See these sections for details:
- “Printing in Windows” on page 36
- “Printing on a Macintosh” on page 43
-
Click the Image Adjust button to enhance your image or add effects:

32 Copying
- Adjust any of the following settings:
■ Enable or disable Automatic Document Enhancement. (This feature automatically enhances the color and appearance of your copies.)
Disabling the Automatic Document Enhancement feature may cause a gray or light colored background to appear on your copies.
■ Add a sepia, blue, or black filter.
■ Adjust brightness, contrast, or saturation levels.
- Click the [icon] Copy button to start copying.
If you need to stop copying in progress, click the [icon] Stop button.
For more information about Smart Panel copy settings, see the on-screen Smart Panel User's Guide or click ? on the main Smart Panel window.
Copying With a Computer 33
34 Copying
Printing From a Computer
Before you start, make sure you’ve installed your printer software as described on the Start Here sheet.
Whenever you print, make sure you do the following:
■ Use the right paper. For the best-looking photos, most vivid colors, and greatest detail, always use genuine Epson papers and ink.
■ Choose the right printer settings. Your printer automatically adjusts for each type of paper. That’s why printer settings are important. They tell your RX500 what kind of paper you’re using and what type of print you want. Make sure you check your print settings every time you print.
Follow the instructions in these sections:
■ “Printing in Windows” on page 36
■ “Customizing Windows Print Settings” on page 39
■ “Printing Photos in Windows” on page 41
■ “Printing on a Macintosh” on page 43
■ “Customizing Macintosh Print Settings” on page 49
■ “Printing Photos on a Macintosh” on page 51
■ “Selecting Your Paper Type” on page 54
35
Printing in Windows
After you create a document in a software program, follow these steps to print it using the basic printer settings:
- From the File menu, click Print. You see a Print window like this one:

Check for your printer name here Click here to open your printer software
-
Make sure EPSON Stylus Photo RX500 is selected.
-
Click the Preferences or Properties button.
(If you see a Setup, Printer, or Options button, click it. Then click Preferences or Properties on the next screen.)
36 Printing From a Computer
- Select the following in the Printing Preferences or Properties window:
Select the type of document you’re printing

- Select from these Quality Options:
- Draft for rough drafts with reduced print quality
- Text for text-only documents and higher text quality
- Text & Image for documents with text and graphics at higher quality
- Photo for photos and graphics with good quality and speed
- Best Photo for photos or graphics with high print quality
Note: For more information about print settings, click the ? or Help button.
The Quality Option settings on this screen give you the best combination of quality and speed for most prints. For the highest quality (Photo RPM®) on selected papers, click the Advanced button on this screen. Then see “Customizing Windows Print Settings” on page 39 for instructions on selecting Photo RPM.
- Select the paper Type for the paper you’ve loaded. See page 54 for guidelines.
- Select your paper Size and image Orientation, then click OK.
- At the Print window, click OK or Print to start printing.
Printing in Windows 37
During printing, this window appears and shows the progress of your print job. You can use the buttons to cancel, pause, or resume printing. You can also see how much ink you have left.
Click to cancel printing
Click to pause or resume printing
Selecting Default Settings
Your printer settings apply only to the program you're currently using. If you want, you can change the Windows default printer settings for all your programs.
- Right-click the printer icon on the Windows taskbar.
- Select Printer Settings. You see the window shown on page 37.
- Select the default settings you want for all your applications, then click OK.
You can still change the printer settings in your program, if necessary.
38 Printing From a Computer
Customizing Windows Print Settings
You can use advanced settings for color matching, printing at the highest resolution available, or selecting a variety of special effects and layouts.
- Click the Advanced button in the bottom right corner of the Main tab in the Properties window. If you see a warning message, click Continue.
- Select the following settings as necessary:

Select a color management method. To choose No Color Adjustment, click ICM first
Select Paper & Quality Options as necessary
Click here to select Photo RPM (5760 × 1440 dpi) for the best print quality on certain paper types
Click here to select Black Ink Only printing
For the highest print quality, select Photo RPM. Note that printing will take longer. If you're using a color management system and don't want your printer to control the colors, choose, ICM, then select No Color Adjustment.
For more information about advanced settings, or instructions for saving them as a group so you can reuse them later, click the ? or Help button. If you want to use the Advanced screen each time you access your print settings, select the Show this screen first checkbox.
Customizing Windows Print Settings 39
-
Once you’ve finished selecting advanced settings, you can:
- Click OK to save your settings, return to the Print window, and print.
- Click the Basic button to return to the Basic settings.
- Click the Page Layout tab and continue with step 4 to select layout options.
-
Select the following page layout settings as necessary:

Note: For more information on advanced and page layout settings, click the ? or Help button.
- Click OK to save your settings and return to the Print window.
- Click OK or Print to start printing.
40 Printing From a Computer
Printing Photos in Windows
You can print your photos with no margins, extending the image all the way to the edges of the page. Although borderless printing is a bit slower (especially near the edges), you get beautiful snapshots or enlargements, without trimming.
Note: For instructions on loading special paper, see page 15, or the instructions included with the paper.
You can also print borderless photos using the LCD menus and RX500 buttons. See page 98 for details.
Follow these steps to print borderless photos using the printer software:
-
Start your software program and open your photo file.
-
Select Print from the File menu, then click Properties or Preferences.
You see the following window:

Select to print without borders
- Select Photo or Best Photo as the Quality Option setting.
- Select one of the following paper types:
- ■ Premium Glossy Photo Paper
- ■ Matte Paper-Heavyweight
- ■ Glossy Photo Paper
- ■ Premium Semigloss Photo Paper
- ■ Premium Luster Photo Paper
- Click the Borderless checkbox. Read the message and click OK. Note: If you need to adjust the amount of image expansion necessary for borderless printing, click the Page Layout tab and move the Expansion slider.
- Select your paper Size setting.
- Select Portrait or Landscape as the Orientation setting.
- Click OK, then click OK or Print.
42 Printing From a Computer
Printing on a Macintosh
After you create a document in a software program, follow the steps in one of these sections to print it using basic print settings:
■ For Macintosh OS X, see the next section.
■ For Macintosh OS 8.6 to 9.x, see page 47.
Printing With OS X
If you’re using an OS X-compatible printing application, follow the steps below to print your document. (If you’re using an application that’s compatible only with Macintosh Classic mode, follow the steps on page 47 instead.)
Before you begin, make sure you installed the software and added the RX500 to Print Center or the Printer Setup Utility, as described on the Start Here poster.
- From the File menu, select Page Setup. You see a window like this one:

- Select Stylus Photo RX500 from the Format for list.
- Select your Paper Size.
When printing using a custom paper size, make sure the selected size matches the paper you loaded and is within the printable area for the printer. For example, never choose a size wider than the printer’s sheet feeder or longer than the paper. (See the on-screen Reference Guide for paper size specifications.)
- Click OK to close the Page Setup window.
Printing on a Macintosh 43
- Select Print from the File menu. You see a window like this:

Make sure your printer is selected Click and choose Print Settings
-
Make sure Stylus Photo RX500 is selected in the Printer list. Always make sure you select the same printer you chose in the Page Setup window.
-
Choose Print Settings from the pull-down menu. You see this window:

Select the type of paper you loaded Select Color or Black ink Select higher quality or faster printing (if available) Select Automatic mode
44 Printing From a Computer
-
Select the following print settings as necessary:
- Media Type: Select the paper type for the paper you’ve loaded. See page 54 for guidelines.
- Color: Select Color (for color documents and black and white photos) or Black (for black text documents).
- Automatic: Select this option to have the printer software automatically select the best settings for your paper type.
- Quality/Speed: Use the slider to choose higher quality or faster printing.
Note: For the highest print quality (Photo RPM) on certain paper types, click Advanced and see the instructions for selecting Photo RPM on page 49.
For more information about printer settings, click the Help button.
-
You can also choose other print settings by selecting these options in the pull-down menu:
- Copies & Pages: Select the number of copies you want, or a page range.
- Layout: Select page layout options.
- Output Options: Save your print job as a PDF file.
- Color Management: Select ColorSync,® adjust the color controls, change the gamma setting, or turn off color adjustments in the printer software.
-
If you want to save your selections for future use, choose Save As from the Presets pop-up menu, enter a name, then click OK.
-
Click Print.
-
To monitor the progress of your print job, click the Stylus Photo RX500 icon when it appears in the dock on the bottom of your desktop.
If you’re using OS X 10.2, click the [icon] Print Center icon instead, then double-click Stylus Photo RX500 in the Printer List window.
Printing on a Macintosh 45
You see a screen like this:

- Monitor the progress of your print job or do one of the following:
- Select the print job in the Status list, then click Delete to delete the job.
- Select the print job, then click Hold to pause printing.
- Select a print job marked “Hold” and click Resume to resume printing.
- If multiple print jobs are listed, select a print job, then click the Priority arrow as necessary to reorder the jobs.
- When you’re finished, close the Stylus Photo RX500 window or Print Center.
46 Printing From a Computer
Printing With OS 8.6 to 9.x
Before you begin, make sure you’ve installed your software and selected the SP RX500 Series icon in the Chooser, as described on your Start Here sheet.
- From the File menu, select Page Setup. Select the following settings:

- Click OK to close the window.
- From the File menu, select Print. You see this window:

Printing on a Macintosh 47
- Select the following print settings as necessary:
- Media Type: Select the paper type you loaded; see page 54 for guidelines.
- Color: Select either Color (for color documents and black and white photos) or Black (for black text documents).
- Automatic: Select this Mode option to have the printer software automatically select the best settings for your paper type.
- Quality/Speed: Use the slider to choose higher quality or faster printing.
Note: To select the highest print quality (Photo RPM) on selected papers, see page 50. For more information about print settings, click the ? button.
-
You can also do the following:
- Click [icon] to reduce or enlarge your printed image, print multi-page layouts, or add a watermark.
- Click [icon] to control background printing and schedule print jobs.
- Click [icon], then click Preview to preview your print job.
- Click [icon] to check your ink levels.
-
Click Print.
-
If you turned on background printing, you can select EPSON Monitor IV from the Macintosh Application menu. You see this window:
Select your print job, then click here to cancel printing

If you're not using background printing and you need to cancel printing, hold down the ⌘ key and press and hold the . (period) key.
48 Printing From a Computer
Customizing Macintosh Print Settings
You can use advanced settings to print at the highest available resolution, or adjust the print speed and layout. Follow the instructions in these sections:
■ “Customizing OS X Print Settings” below
■ “Customizing OS 8.6 to 9.x Print Settings” on page 50
Customizing OS X Print Settings
- Open the Print Settings window and click Advanced.
- Select these advanced settings as necessary:

For the highest print quality, select Photo RPM. Note that printing will take longer.
For more information on advanced settings, or instructions on saving them as a group so you can reuse them later, click Help.
- Click Print.
Customizing OS 8.6 to 9.x Print Settings
- Open the printer settings window, click Custom, then click the Advanced button that appears.
- Select these advanced settings as necessary:
Select color management settings here
Click here to select Photo RPM (5760 × 1440 dpi) for the best print quality on selected paper types
Select various print options here

Note: For the highest print quality, select Photo RPM. Printing takes longer in this mode. To turn off color management in your printer software, select No Color Adjustment. For more information on advanced settings, or instructions on saving them as a group so you can reuse them later, click ?.
- Click OK to save your settings, then click Print.
50 Printing From a Computer