Follow the steps in one of these sections to print BorderFree photos on cut sheet paper:
■ “Windows” below
■ “Mac OS X” on page 51
Windows
-
Start your print application and open your photo file.
-
Open the File menu, click Print, then click Properties or Preferences.
-
Select Photo or Best Photo as the Quality Option.
-
Choose Sheet as the Source setting.
-
Select the type of paper you loaded as the Type setting. See page 41 for details.
-
Click the Borderless checkbox.
-
Select your paper size as the Size setting.
-
Select Portrait or Landscape as the orientation setting.
-
Click the Page Layout tab, then adjust the Expansion setting. Choose Min for the least amount of image expansion (with a chance that there may be small borders around the edges) or Max for the greatest amount of expansion (some of the image will be cut off around the edges, but it will extend to the edge of the paper).
-
Click OK.
-
Click OK or Print.

50 Printing Special Photos
Mac OS X
- Start your print application and open your photo file.
- From the File menu, select Page Setup.
- Open the Format menu and select your printer.

Select Stylus Photo R2400
Select the size of the paper you loaded here
- Open the Paper Size menu and select the paper size for the paper you loaded. Then select a Sheet Feeder - Borderless setting from the submenu.
- Select one of the portrait or landscape orientation icons as the Orientation setting.
- Click OK.
- Select Print from the File menu.
- Open the Printer menu and select Stylus Photo R2400.
Printing Special Photos 51
- Select Print Settings from the pop-up menu.
Note: In certain programs you may need to select Advanced before you can select Print Settings.

- Select the type of paper you loaded as the Media Type setting. See page 41 for details.
Note: If you can’t choose your paper type, check the Paper Size settings on the Page Setup window to make sure you selected the correct paper size and source, or that you have the correct black ink cartridge installed (see page 70 for information).
-
Move the slider to the Quality setting.
-
Choose Expansion from the pop-up menu, then adjust the Expansion setting. Choose Min for the least amount of image expansion (with a chance that there may be small borders around the edges) or Max for the greatest amount of expansion (some of the image will be cut off around the edges, but it will extend to the edge of the paper).
-
Click Print.
52 Printing Special Photos
Managing Color With Profiles
Follow the steps in this section to use color profiles for printing with Adobe Photoshop (the instructions cover Photoshop 7, CS, CS2, and CS3).
Carefully follow the instructions in these sections for the best results:
- “Printing With a Color Profile” below
- “Solving Color Management Problems” on page 62
- “Printing a Custom Profile Test Target” on page 62
- “Creating a Custom Profile” on page 66
Printing With a Color Profile
To print an image using a profile, follow the steps in one of these sections.
- “Windows” below
- “Mac OS X” on page 58
Windows
Opening Your Image
- Open Adobe Photoshop.
- Select Edit > Color Settings.
- Select U.S. Prepress Defaults or North America Prepress 2 from the Settings pull-down menu. This sets Adobe RGB (1998) as the RGB working space and activates warning messages for profile mismatches and missing profiles. Click OK.
- Open the photo you want to print.

Printing Special Photos 53
-
If you see this message, select Use the embedded profile (instead of the working space) and click OK. It is generally best to use the embedded profile.
-
If you see this message, select Assign working RGB: Adobe RGB (1998) and click OK:

- When your image appears, evaluate the color balance and contrast as displayed on your monitor. If they need improvement, select Image > Mode > Assign Profile (for Photoshop CS and 7) or Edit > Assign Profile (for Photoshop CS2 and CS3). Select one of the following as the Profile setting:
- A different RGB working space, such as ColorMatch RGB or sRGB IEC61966-2.1
- A scanner profile for your scanner
- A camera profile for your digital camera
Also click the Preview box so you can see the effects of your profile choice on the screen.
Tip: This is most effective when your monitor is calibrated using a hardware device such as the X-Rite® Eye-One® Display 2 or Color vision® Spyder2.™
- Click OK.
Note: Assigning a profile to the image doesn't alter the image data, only the interpretation of the data by your software and how it appears on your monitor and in a printout. This is the best way to improve the color balance and contrast in your image.
54 Printing Special Photos

Selecting Your Print Settings
- Select File > Page Setup.
- Select the Size for your paper and the correct Orientation for your image:

- Click OK.
- Select File > Print or Print with Preview.
- If necessary, click More Options or Show More Options. If you see Output, select Color Management from the pull-down menu.
Additional options appear:

Photoshop 7, CS

Photoshop CS3
Printing Special Photos 55
-
Under Color Handling in Photoshop CS2, select Let Photoshop Determine Colors. In CS3, select Photoshop Manages Colors.
-
Under Profile or Printer Profile, select the Epson Premium ICC profile that matches your printer, the paper you’ll use for the print, and the quality setting.
Note: The Epson Premium ICC profiles can be identified with the suffix ".icc," for example, "SPR2400 PremLuster BstPhoto.icc."
- For the Intent or Rendering Intent setting, select Relative Colorimetric.
Note: If your image contains very saturated colors, select Perceptual instead. This reduces the color saturation so that the colors fit within the printer’s color gamut.
- Select the Use Black Point Compensation checkbox.
Printing Your Color-Managed Photo
-
Click the Print button.
-
Make sure your printer is selected, and click the Properties or Preferences button.
-
If you are using an Epson Premium ICC profile, set the Quality Option setting to match your profile.
-
Select the Type setting for the paper you’ll use for the print.
Note: For printouts on PremierArt Water Resistant Canvas, select Ultra Premium Photo Paper Luster for the paper type setting. For printouts on Piezo Pro Matte Canvas, select Premium Presentation Paper Matte. Additionally, make sure the Photo Black ink cartridge is installed. See “Matching Black Ink to Paper Type” on page 68.
-
Click the Advanced button, then click Continue.
-
Turn off the High Speed and Edge Smoothing settings, if they are available.
56 Printing Special Photos
- Click the ICM button under Color Management, then Select Off (No Color Adjustment).

IMPORTANT! Select Off (No Color Adjustment)
Note: Make sure that you select Off (No Color Adjustment). If you don’t, the printer driver will apply additional correction to the image data, producing inaccurate results.
- Click OK.
- Click OK or Print to print your photo.
Printing Special Photos 57
Mac OS X
Opening Your Image
- Open Adobe Photoshop.
- Select Color Settings from the Photoshop menu (Photoshop 7 or CS) or the Edit menu (Photoshop CS2 or CS3).
- Select U.S. Prepress Defaults or North America Prepress 2 from the Settings pull-down menu. This sets Adobe RGB (1998) as the RGB working space and activates warning messages for profile mismatches and missing profiles. Click OK.
- Open the photo you want to print.
- If you see the message shown below, select Use the embedded profile (instead of the working space) and click OK. It is generally best to use the embedded profile.

- If you see the message shown below, select Assign working RGB: Adobe RGB (1998) and click OK.
58 Printing Special Photos


- When your image appears, evaluate the color balance and contrast as displayed on your monitor. If they need improvement, select Image > Mode > Assign Profile (for Photoshop CS and 7) or Edit > Assign Profile (for Photoshop CS2 and CS3). Select one of the following as the Profile setting:
- A different RGB working space, such as ColorMatch RGB or sRGB IEC61966-2.1
- A scanner profile for your scanner
- A camera profile for your digital camera
Also click the Preview box so you can see the effects of your profile choice on the screen.
Tip: This is most effective when your monitor is calibrated using a hardware device such as the X-Rite Eye-One Display 2 or Color vision Spyder2.
- Click OK.
Note: Assigning a profile to the image doesn’t alter the image data, only the interpretation of the data by your software and how it appears on your monitor and in a printout. This is the best way to improve the color balance and contrast in your image.
Selecting Your Print Settings
- Select File > Print or Print with Preview. If you see a window like this, click More Options or Show More Options.
- Click the Page Setup button to change the page size and orientation settings as necessary, then click OK.

Printing Special Photos 59
- Click Color Management from the pop-up menu:
Photoshop 7, CS
Photoshop CS3
- Under Color Handling in Photoshop CS2, select Let Photoshop Determine Colors. In CS3, select Photoshop Manages Colors.
- Under Profile or Printer Profile, select a profile for your printer and the paper you’ll use for the print. If you’re printing with Epson Premium ICC profiles, select the profile that matches the print quality you want to use.
Note: The Epson Premium ICC profiles can be identified with the suffix ".icc," for example, "SPR2400 PrmGlsy BstPhoto.icc."
- For the Intent or Rendering Intent setting, select Relative Colorimetric.
Note: If your image contains very saturated colors, select Perceptual. This reduces the color saturation so that the colors fit within the printer’s color gamut.
- Select the Black Point Compensation checkbox.
Printing Your Color-Managed Photo
- Click the Print button.
- Select Stylus Photo R2400 from the Printer menu.
60 Printing Special Photos

- Select Print Settings from the pop-up menu.
Note: In certain programs you may need to select Advanced before you can select Print Settings.
- Select the Media Type setting for the paper you’ll use for the print.
Note: For printouts on Epson PremierArt Water Resistant Canvas, select Ultra Premium Photo Paper Luster for the paper type setting. For printouts on Piezo Pro Matte Canvas, select Premium Presentation Paper Matte. Additionally, make sure the Photo Black ink cartridge is installed. See “Matching Black Ink to Paper Type” on page 68.

-
Click the Advanced button.
-
If you are using an Epson Premium ICC profile, set the Print Quality setting to match your profile.
-
Turn off the High Speed setting.
-
Select Color Management from the pop-up menu.
-
Select Off (No Color Adjustment).
Note: Make sure that you select Off (No Color Adjustment). If you don’t, the printer driver will apply additional correction to the image data, producing inaccurate results.

- Click Print to print your photo.
Printing Special Photos 61
Solving Color Management Problems
If you selected the wrong combination of source profile, printer profile, and color management settings, you’ll get unexpected results. Try these solutions:
- If your printed image is darker than expected and/or has a strong yellow-brown cast, you probably turned off color management in both Photoshop and the Epson printer driver.
Return to the Print or Print with Preview instructions for Adobe Photoshop on page 59 (for Mac OS X) or page 55 (for Windows). Make sure the Source Space - Document option is not set to Untagged RGB. Also make sure you selected the correct profile for your printer in the Print Space - Profile menu.
- If your printed image is lighter than expected and/or has a strong light blue cast, you probably turned on color management in both Photoshop and the Epson printer driver.
Return to the instructions on page 61 (for Mac OS X) or page 57 (for Windows). Make sure to select Off (No Color Adjustment) in the printer driver Advanced screen or Color Management menu to turn off color management in your Epson printer driver.
Printing a Custom Profile Test Target
Follow the steps in this section to create and print individual custom profile test targets for each paper type you plan to print on. For Mac OS X, see below. For Windows, see page 65.
Mac OS X
- Open Adobe Photoshop and open the profile target file provided by your profile-building software manufacturer.
- If you see a missing profile screen, select Leave as is (don’t color manage).
- Select File > Print with Preview.
- In the Print window, click Show More Options, then choose Color Management in the pop-up menu.
62 Printing Special Photos
- Select No Color Management (Photoshop CS2 or CS3) or Same as Source (Photoshop CS or 7) as the Print Space: Profile setting.

- Click the Page Setup button. You see this window:

- Select Stylus Photo R2400 from the Format for menu.
- Select the appropriate Paper Size and Orientation settings, then click OK.
- Click the Print button.
- Select your printer from the Printer menu, then select Print Settings from the pop-up menu.
Note: In certain programs you may need to select Advanced before you can select Print Settings.
Printing Special Photos 63
- Select the Media Type setting for the profile you’re printing.

- Click the Advanced button.
- Select your desired level as the Print Quality setting.
- Turn off the High Speed setting.
- Select Color Management from the pop-up menu.
- Select Off (No Color Adjustment).

- Click Print to print your test target.
- Repeat these steps to print a test target for each paper type and Print Quality setting you plan to print with.
64 Printing Special Photos
Windows
- Open Adobe Photoshop and open the profile target file provided by your profile-building software manufacturer.
- If you see a missing profile screen, select Leave as is (don’t color manage).
- Select File > Print or Print with Preview.
- In the Print window, click the Show More Options checkbox, then choose Color Management in the pull-down menu.
- Select No Color Management (Photoshop CS2 or CS3) or Same as Source (Photoshop CS or 7) as the Print Space: Profile setting.
- Click the Print or Print One button.
- Click the Properties or Preferences button.
- Click the Advanced button, then click Continue.
- Select the media type setting for the paper you’ll use for the print.


Printing Special Photos 65
- Select the print quality desired: Photo (1440 × 720 dpi), Best Photo (1440 × 1440 dpi), or PhotoRPM (5760 × 1440 dpi).
- Turn off the High Speed and Edge Smoothing settings, if they are available.
- Click the ICM button under Color Management and click the Off (No Color Adjustment) button.

IMPORTANT! Select ICM, then click Off (No Color Adjustment)
- Click OK.
- Click OK or Print to print your test target.
- Repeat these steps to print a test target for each paper type and Quality Option setting you plan to print with.
Creating a Custom Profile
If you’re creating a custom profile for your printer, follow the instructions provided with your profile-building software (such as MonacoPROFILER™ by X-Rite or GretagMacbeth® ProfileMaker) to create your custom profile using the test target you printed. Once you create the profile, be sure to place it in the correct folder on your computer, as recommended by Microsoft or Apple.®
66 Printing Special Photos
Easy Printing With Photoshop Elements 3.0
If you are using Adobe Photoshop Elements 3.0 with Windows, you can take advantage of the Epson EasyPrint interface when you’re ready to print. It lets you select your basic settings directly from the Print window, so you don’t need to open the Properties or Preferences window to access the printer driver.
This one-stop printing feature also prevents conflicts between software and driver settings by making them both match.
Complete instructions for using Adobe Photoshop Elements 3.0 are provided in the Getting Started Guide installed with Photoshop Elements.
Follow these steps to open Elements and access the EasyPrint interface:
- To start the program, double-click the Adobe Photoshop Elements 3.0 icon on your desktop.
- Select View and Organize Photos. You see the Photo Browser workspace and Organizer at the top of the screen to indicate Organizer mode.
- Select Get Photos from the File menu and choose an option such as From Files and Folders. Then select the folder containing your photo(s) and select the photo(s) you want to print.
If you need to edit a photo, go to step 4. If you are ready to print, go to step 5.
- To edit a photo, click the Edit button to enter Edit mode. Choose either Go To Quick Fix or Go To Standard Edit. When you finish editing and are ready to print, click Photo Browser to return to Organizer mode. Do not print from Editor mode.
Note: If you print from Editor mode, you do not see the Epson EasyPrint interface. To access the printer driver settings, you must click File > Print > Print, select your printer name, and then click Properties.
Printing Special Photos 67
- Select Print from the File menu. You see the Epson EasyPrint interface:

Select EPSON Stylus Photo R2400 Select your paper type Choose your paper size and orientation Click here for borderless printing Select other print settings
Click here for more print options
- Change your print settings as necessary.
- Click Print to start printing.
Tip: If you’re printing a borderless print and it comes out with one or more borders, select Crop to Fit.
Matching Black Ink to Paper Type
In order to generate the best output on a wide variety of paper types, your printer can use either the Matte Black (T059820) or Photo Black (T059120) ink cartridge. Only one can be installed in the printer at any time, but you can swap these cartridges depending on your paper type. Both are included with your printer.
68 Printing Special Photos
Use the Matte Black ink cartridge for professional results with the following paper types:
■ Presentation Paper Matte Photo Quality Ink Jet Paper
■ Ultra Premium Presentation Paper Matte Enhanced Matte Paper
■ Premium Presentation Paper Matte Matte Paper - Heavyweight
■ Premium Presentation Paper Matte Double-sided Double-Sided Matte Paper
■ Velvet Fine Art Paper
■ Watercolor Paper - Radiant White
■ UltraSmooth Fine Art Paper
Tip: Although these media types are available when the Photo Black cartridge is installed, printing on Matte type media with Photo Black will not yield professional or optimal results. The ability to print on matte media with Photo Black is for convenience only.
Use the Photo Black cartridge for professional results with the following paper types:
■ Premium Photo Paper Glossy Premium Glossy Photo Paper
■ Ultra Premium Photo Paper Luster Premium Luster Photo Paper
■ Premium Photo Paper Semi-gloss Premium Semigloss Photo Paper
■ Proofing Paper Semimatte
■ PremierArt Water Resistant Canvas
You cannot select these paper types when the Matte Black cartridge is installed.
Printing Special Photos 69
Swapping the Black Ink Cartridges
Be sure you have the other black cartridge handy before you begin. Once you start replacing a cartridge, you must complete all the steps in one session.
You can replace a cartridge whether the red ink light is off, flashing, or on.
- Make sure the printer is turned on (the green power light should be on, but not flashing). Then open the printer cover.
- Press the ink button. The print head moves and the green power light flashes.
- Lift up the cartridge cover.
- Press in the tab on the back of the black cartridge, and lift it out of the printer as shown below. Store this cartridge in a sealable plastic bag for later use.

- Shake the new cartridge four or five times before opening its package. (Don’t shake it after it’s unwrapped.)
- Remove the new cartridge from its package.
Caution: Don’t touch the green circuit board on the front of the cartridge; you may inhibit normal operation and printing.

- Slide the new cartridge into its slot. The side with the green circuit board goes in the front of the slot.
70 Printing Special Photos
-
Press the cartridge down until it clicks into place.
-
Close the cartridge cover, press down on the top until it clicks, then close the printer cover.
-
Press the \triangle ink button. The printer begins charging the new cartridge.

The green O power light and red \triangle ink lights flash and the printer makes noise. Charging takes about 90 seconds. When it’s finished, the green O power light stops flashing and stays on. The red \triangle ink light and the light above the cartridge go out.
Caution: Never turn off the printer while the green O power light is flashing, unless the printer hasn’t moved or made noise for more than 5 minutes.
Confirming the Swapped Cartridge Settings
Once you’ve swapped the black ink cartridges, you need to confirm that the printer driver settings are correct for the new cartridge.
Windows
- Right-click the Status Monitor. Choose Printer Settings from the pop-up menu.
- Click the Maintenance tab, then click Printer and Option Information.
- Verify the new black ink cartridge is selected. Click OK.

Printing Special Photos 71
- Click OK in the Optional Ink Cartridge Notification dialog box.
- Click OK in the Properties window.
Note: It may be necessary to close and re-open the application from which you’re printing to update the paper Type selections.
Macintosh
- Close any printing programs you may have open.
- Open the Printer Setup Utility (OS X 10.3 and 10.4) or Print Center (OS X 10.2).
- Select Stylus Photo R2400 from the list and click the Utility button.
- Click the Epson Status Monitor button.
- Click the black ink cartridge and verify the new cartridge type. Then click OK.

- Close the Epson Printer Utility window.
72 Printing Special Photos
Advanced Black and White Photo Printing
The Advanced B&W Photo mode lets you easily produce neutral and toned black-and-white prints using your Epson driver and offers an alternative black-and-white workflow. Advanced B&W Photo mode also provides settings for more advanced black-and-white controls. These controls can be applied to color image files without the need to save a separate grayscale version. This mode is only available when printing at specific Quality settings on the following media types:
■ Premium Photo Paper Glossy Premium Glossy Photo Paper
■ Ultra Premium Photo Paper Luster Premium Luster Photo Paper
■ Premium Semi-gloss Photo Paper Premium Photo Paper Semigloss
■ Premium Presentation Paper Matte Matte Paper-Heavyweight
■ Ultra Premium Presentation Paper Matte Enhanced Matte Paper
■ Watercolor Paper-Radiant White
■ Velvet Fine Art Paper
■ UltraSmooth Fine Art Paper
Follow the steps in one of these sections to use Advanced B&W Photo settings:
■ “Windows” on page 74
■ “Mac OS X” on page 76
Printing Special Photos 73